The Somnambulist Sword Fighter

 

 

I feel exactly like a somnambulists sword fighter.

Imagine before you a sword fighter who is swishing his sword, asleep, in mid-step, unaware he is just going through the motions. There you have it. That’s how I feel. I may as well be on auto-pilot. Which is tragic, because something as tedious as revision deserves full attention (respectfully mine), especially for those of us who are scared out of our wits by change. When it comes to writing, revision and editing specifically, that is the last thing I want to be. Let us look at my other (better) options (yes, I’m going to continue the fun comparisons):

The Bungee Jumper: If anything I want to dive right into the process, zone in on the damage that a first draft has done to my ego, change it for the better, and spring back up (Zoing!) when I feel my manuscript is suffocating or about to take a nose dive into the rocks again.

The Rock Climber: Perseverance is key to this one, but so is a life line. Stop now and you will never finish your climb to the top. Ostracize yourself from support groups (critique buddies, kidlit community, family, friends) who believe in your writing and you will be free-falling to your death in no time. Find your way around the huge boulder you are hiding behind and you will be just fine.

The Highwire Funambulist (notice there is F-U-N involved with this one): I want to steady myself throughout the whole revision process with acute precision. “Leave no room for error and keep things balanced,” is this guys motto.

So there you have it. I’m ditching the somnambulist sword fighter for several other professions. After all, it is my personal opinion that the revisionist is a jack-of-all-trades, Renaissance Man kinda thing. All of this requires that I be aware, proactive, and selective when I sit down to revise, but then that leaves me with one more thing to tackle…motivation. Where in the world will that come from? Maybe I just need adrenaline to jump start the process. Oh, wait…I’m already an adrenaline junkie. 🙂

What’s your take on revision?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Somnambulist Sword Fighter

  1. I love your comparisons. My take? Ugh!

  2. Angela, cute post! So imaginative! I don’t have a “take” on revisions because I haven’t done a whole lot of them yet…I’m THAT shiny new! ;0)

  3. Life is a story! Problem or PLOT? Late for school or Spelling test? Or maybe a lost doll or spilled grape juice on the new carpet!!! Did the cat bring home a baby bird? Alive or dead?? LIVE THE STORY then write it down!!! YOU have so much talent!

  4. Gold miner. This old geezer keeps digging until hitting pay dirt, and then comes chortling down the middle of the street leading his overburdened donkey to the bank.

Leave a comment!

